Monastery Ostrog, a miracle built by nature and human interaction, carved almost in its entirety in a vertically positioned mountain cliff, is today the pearl of Montenegrin spirituality which is visited by more than a hundred thousand pilgrims from around the world and of travellers of all religions every year.
It is one of three most visited Christian destinations on the planet with its cave-like chapel and the Monastery complex that preserves the sanctity of Saint Basil the , Orthodox Christian Saint of Miracles.
All of Montenegrin sprituality , belief s and cultural treasures found their home high up in the Ostrog cliffs. This breathtaking destination will fill your soul with high elevated feelings of devotion and reverence to God.
Monastery Ostrog is situated on the cusp of the rich Bjelopavlic plain, carved high up in the cliffs, with easy access for visitors and an adventure one does not want to miss. It is located about 50 kilometers from the capitol of Montenegro, Podgorica and about 15 kilometer from the second largest town in Montenegro – Niksic. Since the two towns have a direct highway connection finding Ostrog is quick and simple.
The history of the monastery Ostrog well known to the reader by know is still a secret in the Ostrog cliffs. Even thou its history is well preserved in human memory so that it will not be forgotten, its cultural and artistic treasures tell a story of this most memorable place for the southern Slavs. The Upper monastery, above the header of the inside entranceway of the church “Holy Crucifix” carries a inscription “By the will of God, the sacrifice of the Son and the will of the Holy Spirit this church named by the holy Crucifix was build in 1773, and finished 1775 with the blessing of the saint hooded bishop Basil, with the hard work and perseverance of Isaiah, the grandson of the first holy prior Isaiah of Ostroga from the village of Pope. God bless them for starting and finishing”. The documented year or 1773 is calculated by the medieval telling of time and the actual dates are 1665 for the start and 1667 for the end of the building process. The reason for this little church name is believed to be that a small piece of what is said to be the piece of Christ’s cross was given to the church when it was being build. The altar therefore became a place where a very important part of Christianity was displayed.